Silent Willy

Stephanie Thomas

The monument I chose to study is Willy the Silent, located at the end of the Voorhees Mall between Seminary Place and Hamilton Street. Willy the Silent is seen as a hero in the Netherlands, so he is here on campus to show Rutgers pride in its Dutch background. What surprised me about this monument is how few people know its purpose or why he is here – many students think it is actually William Shakespeare! Through exploring my surprise, I realized that I also do not know Rutgers as well as I thought. I walk the streets of campus every day and still am still unfamiliar with all of its history. By learning about Willy, I feel compelled to learn about the significance of other things around campus and why they are important and unique to Rutgers.

 

About urba0090

is an ACLS New Faculty Fellow in the American Studies and History departments at Rutgers University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

