Ellis Island

Christina Hernandez

Ellis Island, located in the New York Harbor, is an important monument because it was a gateway to America for over twelve million immigrants. It tells us about our country’s past and the hardships and struggles immigrants faced when coming to America. Ellis Island represents freedom and opportunity for all. For many immigrants, the island was a beginning to a new and better life not only for themselves, but for their families as well.

The Statue of Liberty – Ellis Island Foundation managed to salvage many of the immigration station’s original fixtures including two of three chandeliers which hang in the Registry Room and the doors of the main entrance. I was amazed when I learned that I had walked through the exact same set of doors immigrants walked through upon their arrival decades ago.

Because I had learned this so early on during my trip to Ellis Island and because I was so amazed by that little bit of knowledge, it was very easy for me to get into the rest of the tour. I was very excited and eager to learn more about the island and its past. It was a very informative experience. I learned a great deal and I would definitely visit the museum again considering I did not get the chance to visit every exhibit.

About urba0090

is an ACLS New Faculty Fellow in the American Studies and History departments at Rutgers University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

